What's new

Production to Shipping Lead Time

NICKDI3SEL

Founding Member ⚙️
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to the vehicle ordering game. Once a vehicle enters "Production", what's a typical lead time for it to be delivered to the dealer? I'm sure it varies greatly, but any ideas on the min/max?

Best,
Nick

1722975959129.png

Typically, the minimum is eight to twelve weeks.

Typically, the minimum is eight to twelve weeks.
No, that’s the extreme long end. Trucks are generally started and finished (on the production line) in 1-2 days. Best case, they fly through inspection and get on a train in another day. And further best case, it only takes 1-2 weeks to arrive (with transfers and such). The average is more like 3-4 weeks. It starts getting rather abnormal at around 5 weeks, and ridiculous at 6-8 weeks.

No, that’s the extreme long end. Trucks are generally started and finished (on the production line) in 1-2 days. Best case, they fly through inspection and get on a train in another day. And further best case, it only takes 1-2 weeks to arrive (with transfers and such). The average is more like 3-4 weeks. It starts getting rather abnormal at around 5 weeks, and ridiculous at 6-8 weeks.
Maybe I’m just the unluckiest dude around but I’ve ordered 3 Rams and 1 F-150 over the last 5 years, and they all took over 3 months. The longest was 9 months.

Maybe I’m just the unluckiest dude around but I’ve ordered 3 Rams and 1 F-150 over the last 5 years, and they all took over 3 months. The longest was 9 months.
Same here. Two Rams one BMW fastest one was the BMW at seven weeks.

From the time they entered production??? Or from the time you ordered?

From the time they entered production??? Or from the time you ordered?
For me was from the time from the time my order was received.

For me was from the time from the time my order was received.
Ok, that would make sense. The question that was asked was “enters production” to “delivered to dealer”.